Home > Leadership, Sales Techniques > Words rush out from the fingertips!

Words rush out from the fingertips!

I used to read a lot – it was fiction most of the time and the love affair with tales had started early in life. My siblings and I were encouraged by our parents to read as much as possible. We read every book we could lay our hands on. I guess we were fortunate that the TV was a relatively unknown and expensive gadget those days – the ubiquitous radio belted out the latest songs and brought us news. Computers and the World Wide Web were things that we read about in Scientific Journals and Sci-fi books and the mobile phone as we know it today had not been invented yet. So other than fun and games with our friends and stories from our parents books were our permanent companions.

That liking for words has remained strong throughout and somewhere along the way came the desire to express myself in words. Though I usually wrote essays a few poems have escaped from my pen – I would be terribly embarrassed to show them to anyone today. And I was not very systematic or determined those days – so that desire to write remained on simmer most of the time. When I started working people discovered this ability and asked me to compose business letters and some of my dad’s friends asked me to help their kids write essays.

And then the skill went into cold storage for an extended period till four years ago when someone suggested that I start a blog to express my thoughts. Thus commenced my first attempt at blogging – the articles presented at the blog on Blogspot were interpretations of current news and things I observed. After a while the fire died and the blog went into a long slumber – it remains dormant even today.

The current productive spell got sparked when I was in Oman. A bit more than a year ago, over a coffee at Qurum City Centre, Muscat, I was discussing ways to get myself established as a Trainer / Consultant – across the table sat my new friend Shantanu Sengupta. We got connected on LinkedIn and decided to meet each other to discuss strategies to get entrenched in the Oman market – like me he was new there too. It was Shantanu who stuck a lit matchstick between my toes and jump-started this blog. No, he didn’t actually torture me to get this blog going but he fired my imagination by creating a wonderful picture of what the blog can do for my practice. Shantanu didn’t let it go at that – he made me set targets and list down topics that I would write on. He even helped to choose the blog design and fine-tuned the layout. No amount of thanks would be enough for the help he provided.

It was Shantanu who hit the Like button first when articles were presented and posted encouraging comments to keep me interested and motivated – he shared feedback and useful tips too.

A few months after the Sales Coach blog got going I left Oman to resettle in India and he moved to Delhi. But Shantanu kept checking on my progress and gave many more useful tips. The last few months he has got stuck into a new job and the responsibilities of parenting and I have not been hearing from him so often.

The push he provided a year back and the vision he created remain alive and exciting – I enjoy writing and remain committed to doing it regularly. I may not have written an article a day as initially planned nor did I write short articles as suggested, but write regularly I did. In the last 365 days I have presented 243 articles including this one.

Shantanu had made me me activate one more useful and important feature to promote the blog – A Page on Facebook. Thus started the Sales Coach Blog page on Facebook in Feb 2012, a little over 2 months after the blog was launched.

That Page became the main platform to promote the blog on Social Media and it has 173 subscriber now. I post links to the articles on Indiblogger, Twitter, LinkedIn and Google+ too, but its Facebook that helps to drive readership.

I must recognise a set of friends who are regular readers – Jamy Latheef, Raji Sumanth, Shoba Sriaiyer, Sajan Nair, Sourav Das,  Uma Shankar Pandey, Jayashree Vats, Kailash Acharya, Sunil Menon, Catherine, Anatha, Raaj, Vasant, Prem, Jithin …. I can go on. Thank you, Friends!

I am aware of their unstinting support thanks to the comments posted after reading the articles. But then there are as many or more who regularly read but don’t leave a message in any form afterwards – but read they do. I am extremely thankful to them too, every one of them!

There are those who send a discreet note when a typo or a grammatical error is noticed – without their support this blog would be a mess!

Although the name suggests prevalence of articles pertaining to Sales Management and Selling Skills I have blended in articles on Managerial Excellence, Entrepreneurship, Career Guidance, Nature and Hobbies.

My articles try to tell a story – I use this method because people love hearing or reading a good story; stories have hooks that ensure that the messages remain fastened on the person receiving them. I have also tried to keep it simple – there is enough serious stuff available in books and on the Net; so I thought it made sense to deliver the message differently. Feedback coming in from readers tell me that its the right approach.

The most heady feedback received – “My friend reads your blog before attending an interview; he gets motivated by reading your articles!”

Its been an amazing journey so far and I have barely started. There is so much left to do.

I have been able to stay engaged, committed and focused – my blog completes one year today. It would have been great to present 365 articles by this day, but 243 is not bad …. don’t you think so?

The Sales Coach blog has been noticed by prospective clients too and hopefully business will follow – but in the first year the main purpose was not business development. Now that the targets have been achieved I have to recalibrate and push ahead.

The new year begins in a few moments and the journey starts all over again – I have to create persuasive messages and experiment with interesting new formats.

There are many new ideas to be explored … watch this space! I do hope that in the new year the readers will stay engaged and connected with the Sales Coach Blog …. it’s my job to keep them interested with my Sales Tales!

The next story is on its way … Read on!

  1. Kathy
    December 7, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    I am so happy and proud of you Jay…your writing have opened my eyes to a lot of new things and things i never took pains to notice before.We were really fortunate during our younger days not to have television and internet so much so that we got involved in a lot of other hobbies like reading anything and everything we could get our hands on.KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK JAY.We are all here for you….

    • JayadevM
      December 7, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      Hi Kathy

      Wonderful words from you .. so motivating.

      I am glad you were transported to a happier time after reading this post.

      I look forward to your visits.

  2. Jamy
    December 8, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Congrats padre… wish you many more and I’ll be right there to support you with pleasure!!

    • JayadevM
      December 8, 2012 at 3:38 am

      Hey Jamy

      Thank you! You increased my responsibility with that title.

      Look forward to your backing in the times ahead.

  3. Ramesh
    December 8, 2012 at 3:44 am

    Congrats…243 is a great start for the first year…WIsh you great and exciting years ahead!!!

    • JayadevM
      December 8, 2012 at 4:17 am

      Thank you very much, Ramesh!

  4. December 8, 2012 at 5:08 am

    I don’t know if I’ve ever said this to you J, but you are someone who’s inspired and taught me a lot. I cannot bless Nirvana enough 😉 Your varied interests, the fact that you engage wholeheartedly in everything you do and your ability to connect with people, have taught me many a valuable lesson. May your love affair with words remain as passionate as it is today and may you continue to inspire more like me!

    • JayadevM
      December 8, 2012 at 6:26 am

      Hi Raji

      You have always been generous with praise, but this is an extra-large portion of it. I need to sit down while it takes effect. Thank you!

      Am glad that I could play such a role … motivating people to pursue their dreams.

      All the interactions we have had over the last couple of years on FB and at this blog have provided fresh new perspectives. That’s compelled me to see people and their behaviour differently. I have gained a lot from being friends with you too.

      Let’s keep this dialogue going …. I relish / cherish it!

  5. December 8, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Dear Jayadev, it is a privilege to have been an audience to those captivating words and an honour to be acknowledged by that golden pen. May your muse flourish into a perennially enlightening streams, gurgling its way to the readers’ hearts and minds.

  6. vinod mathummal
    December 8, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    hi jay,

    words and words are all i have take your breath away!! familiar isnt it? it is obvious that the reading habit has helped you a lot and you have translated this postive trait in you to write so well….knowledge is to be shared and i am happy that you are sharing it to benfit others’…keep going and am sure you will achieve your objective,,,,all the best..

    • JayadevM
      December 8, 2012 at 4:52 pm

      Hi Vinod

      Wonderful song that, one of my favourites!

      Thank you for the appreciation of my efforts.

      Best regards!

  7. vinod mathummal
    December 8, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    correction—your reading habit

  8. vinod mathummal
    December 8, 2012 at 5:20 pm

    vivek was here couple of weeks back and he entertained us till 4am at tonys place…..he did sing that song last time you met him,,,,

    • JayadevM
      December 8, 2012 at 5:33 pm

      Yes, he did! It must have been great fun.

      I am missing all the lovely parties and quizzing in Oman!

      Got to recreate that here soon.

  9. vinod mathummal
    December 8, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    it was great fun….guess you should do that..

  10. Kailash
    December 10, 2012 at 6:56 am

    J, It was a pleasure to be part of this journey and i’ll be there with my seat belt on for the coming year as well. I really miss reading books but your blogs Compensate the same up to some level. Spending talking to a person like you would be reading a 200page book but that’s not possible so your blogs would do 🙂

    Cheers !!!

    • JayadevM
      December 10, 2012 at 7:02 am

      Dear Kailash

      Thank you for that fabulous endorsement. I must live up to that.

      Your support is invaluable!

  11. December 15, 2012 at 4:26 pm

    Happy first and may you have countless ones ahead!!

    • JayadevM
      December 19, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      Thank you, Bindu!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

