Home > Sales Techniques > Buying a Computer: Part-2 :: Booting Up!

Buying a Computer: Part-2 :: Booting Up!

The need was a computer – not a high-end one because I wasn’t a software programmer or a gamer. And since I wasn’t a high-end gizmo freak the fancy brands weren’t under consideration either – a sturdy machine that permitted use of regular office applications, access to Social Media and viewing videos was the need of the hour.

The first shop visited after research on the Internet and discussion with family and friends had shown no interest in my patronage and I walked out in disgust.

At the next one I was greeted by a young Salesman who had no experience in Computer Sales and had not been trained to do the job. I was at my wit’s end and on the verge of walking out a second time when like a welcome breeze a smart young guy named Sanu walked up and introduced himself. He had sensed that I was not happy.

The first thing he did was request me, with a pleasant smile on his face, to get seated at one of the Discussion Consoles arranged in the showroom. He took my name and telephone number and asked me to describe my work and the applications I regularly used at my workplace. With a few smart questions he was able to understand my requirement with great clarity. My annoyance was evaporating.

He even asked whether I had narrowed in on any particular brand – that indicated his awareness of the decision-making process followed by most prospects. The most heartening aspect of Sanu’s presentation was his ability to balance business with the personal touch. He was friendly without being invasive and all that was done while focusing on the customer’s requirement. He clearly defined my need and kept me in good humour throughout the interaction.

I had gone in search of a Dell machine but he insisted that I buy Samsung. Suspicious me immediately got my antenna up because I thought he was doing it either to dump unsold stock or trying to earn a higher commission.

But he explained that Dell and other reputed brands used components purchased from Samsung – even iPhones and iPads had components made by Samsung. He went to explain why Samsung was better than Dell in the range I had zeroed in on I cross checked with my son and the IT savvy friend and got confirmation on the points discussed. Sanu waited patiently while I checked – the mark of a Salesman who was confident and knew what he spoke about. He did not interrupt at all, nor did he show any discomfort.

Even after I had confirmed the truth in his argument Sanu cheekily said that I can go for Dell if I wished. That is the hallmark of a professional – ability to use humour appropriately; that only comes with confidence and courage.

Sanu saw me through the process and before I left the showroom he said, while handing over his card – “Give me a call if you need any further help.”

There you have it – a job done well; another happy customer in the market.

He had built rapport, effectively deployed his persuasion skills and proven that he knew the subject well – all this was done in a friendly manner.

It was only yesterday that a friend from Dubai had shared an interesting video on the Science of Persuasion. I could relate Sanu’s performance with the many of the elements of persuasion identified by Prof. Cialdini. Take a look while I boot up my new laptop.

  1. December 6, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    such salesmen are rare in the computer business. most are kind of people in part-1

    • JayadevM
      December 6, 2012 at 7:49 pm

      Hi Jithin

      I agree with you – have seen that from my own shopping experience.

      They don’t realise what they are doing – their Bosses need to be blamed for this.

      Thank you for sharing that thought.

  2. Jamy
    December 7, 2012 at 12:14 am

    Jay, thats what I’m talking about- Sanu studied your situation in detail, used a very direct, polite approach and let you control the situation at the same time being generous with sharing his knowledge to guide you to make the right decision. Easier said than done- you either have a genuine heart and feel for it or not…..period!!!

    • JayadevM
      December 7, 2012 at 3:26 am

      Absolutely!

  3. Sunil Menon
    December 7, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    Hi Jay
    I will narrate an incident.
    Few month back, I bought a tablet
    Wanted a 3G connection, considering that Idea was original licensee along with TTSL, BSNL and Aircel, I preferred Idea and personally went to a nearby Idea store and told the person at the store my requirement.
    This was on Saturday morning, the only guy at the store , others were girls, assured me that he will be at my place (just half Km away from the store) in an hour, he gave me his contact number just in case, he never turned up and by afternoon the mobile was switched off.
    Needless to say, I don’t take such things kindly,mostly due my proximity to this industry.
    Next day was Sunday, and my eagerness to use the device was washed out and I thought on Monday, I will go to other Operator.
    But then I realised, being from the industry can I just move to another operator just because I was snubbed by a disenchanted person.
    I called up the Customer care head told him the incident and insisted to sent the same person to me, he is a gracious person and promptly made sure the same person came to my place.
    I made him to sit comfortably and asked him , why he did it , and told him that I have an option to go to other service provider but then it has to be on account of technology change not on account of customer service or the lack of it.
    He still beams at me when I go to store for paying my bills.
    I thiink I could make him see the importance of customer acquisition, in my own small way. We also need to sensitive people that why we deserve to be treated with dignity.

    Just a flipside

    • JayadevM
      December 7, 2012 at 3:42 pm

      Hi Sunil

      I like the way you used the disappointment as an opportunity to convey a message that could lead to something positive. You could done just the opposite and it would have been perfectly justifiable.

      And I am the trainer … Drat! 🙂

      I agree that it makes sense to stop playing a victim and take proactive action!

      Thank you for that message.

  4. Kathy
    December 7, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Jay the salesman knew exactly what he was selling and his confidence persuaded you to buy it.I would still stick to my statement that a genuine like for your job can make you work wonders….

    • JayadevM
      December 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm

      I agree, Kathy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

