Home > Ideas > Sunday – Time to Recharge

Sunday – Time to Recharge

It’s 6:30 a.m. on Sunday – I wake little Raveen up, he sleepily walks into the drawing room and plonks down on the sofa. We sit there for a while, half asleep but pushing each other to get set for the activities that lie ahead – Item.1 on the agenda is a 4 km walk.

Every time I visit Trivandrum this walk is one of 2 rituals I diligently pursue.

The week that had gone by had been particularly taxing; my laptop had developed a complaint and work had come to a grinding halt on some days; and at other times it had made desultory progress. I had to frequent cybercafes or wait for my turn on someone else’s machine till a spare one was located for my exclusive use. The circumstances had driven me up the wall.

A trip to Trivandrum to spend time with my nephew Raveen was the ideal prescription – he is my buddy and tension-reliever. A long walk and couple of hours of cricket with him would dissolve all the stress in the system.

Today, the conversation focused on golf – our walk took us past the Golf Links and we saw some players Teeing off and some others Putting on the green adjacent to the road. He’d been to the Links often with his dad. I explained the features of a typical Golf Course, the types of clubs used and the scoring system, and that just about covered everything I knew about this sport. Raveen wondered aloud how the players avoided getting hit by the balls flying about on the fairways and greens – and he repeated back to me the meanings of Golfing terms such as Birdie, Bogey and Bunker. It was fun!

Walks in the past focused on the birds seen along the route, cars that went by and his friends in school. Cricket is a topic that gets discussed all the time because its our favourite sport.

Just as we got home from the walk my brother-in-law, Raveen’s dad, rushed out to meet couple of clients. He had appointments lined up even on Sunday. I said to myself that it’s great to love our job and to be 110% committed to it.But then will the job or our organisation love us back with the same fervour? An occasional weekend assignment is fine but what if it becomes a regular feature of my work? I had opted out of Corporate life a few years back for this reason – less and less of my time was within my control with each passing year.

In the desperate chase for Corporate Stardom we lose a lot of good things that life has to offer.

That takes me nicely into the second ritual I faithfully take part in – and that’s cricket with Raveen. He isn’t very good at it yet. It’s only been a few months since he started taking Coaching and I can see some changes already; he understands the nuances and speaks quite competently about all aspects of the game. I am sure he will be pretty good at it soon.

But the fun part of playing with him is the drama involved – you don’t just bat, bowl and field; with him it’s an entire experience. He plays the role of Tendulkar, Sehwag, Kohli, Raina, Zaheer Khan or Ashwin (his favourite cricketer – he calls himself Ravichander Raveen); their actions and the way they exchange words with each other on the field are faithfully reproduced during our game. I am in splits most of the time – after playing a good stroke he would punch the air with his fist and walk across to knock gloves with his imaginary partner and when he bowls a good delivery there are appeals that mimic the actions of Ashwin or Brett Lee. It’s Live Television and wholesome entertainment – wouldn’t miss it for anything.

Afterwards we grab bottles of water and discuss the recent cricket matches. I can feel the tension and bad vibes of the previous week melting away and the body getting rejuvenated and energised for more action.

Now I am nicely set up for the week that lies ahead … Thank you, Raveen!

  1. jos
    March 4, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    hope u could spot some bird-ies around too.. both of u enthusiasts.

    • JayadevM
      March 4, 2012 at 5:52 pm

      Jos, you are right! Birds and Birdies! 🙂

  2. Jamy
    March 5, 2012 at 7:49 am

    Cool Jay!

    • JayadevM
      March 5, 2012 at 7:49 am

      Thank you, Jamy!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

