Home > Ideas > How good is your back-up plan?

How good is your back-up plan?

My laptop crashed; it would be more appropriate to say that something crashed on it. Last week, during a train journey, the berth (the foldable portion of the seat that’s used for sleeping) fell on my computer and damaged the screen permanently – now work’s stuck till I get the screen replaced.

Everything has been thrown out of gear – clients reminding me about proposals to be submitted, emails waiting for my response and I am 5 days behind on the blogging schedule. I was on an-article-a-day challenge and had kept that alive for 75 days; and then, I could not post an article for 5 straight days.

To complicate things further, I was on tour too – my wife and I were travelling to our son’s alma mater to attend his Graduation function. Rushed arrangements (due to  last-minute announcement by the college authorities) meant that we had to take an inconvenient route (based on availability of seats) to reach the college in time. In the five days spent away from home the longest period we spent at any location was 14 hours.

I am sure many of you have been through such situations:

–          Unexpected breakdown of machinery,

–          Employees extending their leave without prior notice,

–          Intranet or server down for a few hours,

–          New recruits opting for other assignment after provisionally accepting your offer.

The best-made plans can go awry without warning; there can be any number of reasons for it, but how good is your recovery plan? How can any plan be termed as good without a fall-back option?

In the situation described at the start I could have backed up all the information in a spare hard-drive so that work could  progress unabated  by using a hired computer or by plugging into a machine at a business-centre or cyber café.

By keeping a few articles prepared in advance  my blog could have continued as per plan – those articles could then have been saved in my mailbox or in a draft folder at my blog. By just spending a few minutes at a cybercafé or by logging in my account on a friend’s computer I could have published one article each day during the tour.

–          How good is your fallback / recovery option?

–          What would you do to ensure continuity in the situations described above?

–          What changes can you make in your current plans to proof them against crashes?

Seats will continue to fall on laptops and employees may not be back at work on the promised date but business can continue as per plan if you have a good fall-back option in place!

Categories: Ideas
  1. salil
    February 29, 2012 at 2:07 am

    Hi Jayadev,

    I have missed a few. Have you written one on WORK LIFE balance and its positives and negatives.

    If You have, do let me know.

    I enjoyed and read 36 of your articles.

    • JayadevM
      February 29, 2012 at 3:12 am

      Hi Salil,

      You still have more than 50% of the job to finish … No! Just joking. Thanks a lot for reading so many of my articles.

      Yes, I have posted 2-3 articles on Work-Life Balance and intend to write many more on that theme. Will send you the link to the ones done.

      Look forward to hear from you again.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

