Home > Ideas > Secret Service?

Secret Service?

Four months back I started a Business Account (Current Account) with one of the Nationalised Banks. Needed it fast and a friend worked at this bank, so I got the account activated in couple of hours – and they are more relaxed on the minimum balance to be maintained as compared with the newfangled private banks.

A week back I went there to deposit a cheque – after the transaction I asked for the location of another bank because I had to deposit some cash into the account of a friend who maintains an account with that bank.

The Officer told me that I can deposit amounts into other bank accounts in my bank itself for a small fee. I was pleased that a trip could be saved by paying such a small fee.

Then I want to go one step further – my personal account, with a private bank, could be operated from home thanks to the Internet Banking facility. So I asked the man whether his bank had the facility too.

“I can save a lot of time and avoid the trip if I have Net Banking,” I told him.

He casually tells me – “Sir, we have all the facilities the other banks have and we started it before them.”

He was trying to impress me by saying that. But it had the opposite effect.

I wanted to say  “Why didn’t you give me all these facilities when I started the account, you Smart Ass? You didn’t even mention it!”

“How do I start using Net Banking?” is what I asked instead.

He gave me the necessary form and said it will take 7 day to get the PIN number – I had to make another visit to the bank to collect it.

When I started the account with the Private Bank, they sent a Rep to my office to collect the forms, all the service activation was done on Day-1 and the PIN voucher for activating the Internet banking facility was mailed to me.

My questions to all of you:

– Are you losing opportunities to grow revenue by not informing your customer about all the services available?

– Are you waiting for the customer to ask?

– Is Service Activation customer – friendly?

– Are you educating them on the use of the services?

We keep worrying about increasing revenue and profits but fail to use the opportunities available.

Are you going to tell the world about everything you have on offer … or do they need to hire CIA / KGB to find out?

  1. BijeshMenon
    January 14, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    Absolutely true..i too had a similar experience with a nationalized ban k..the “pull” factor is missing..may be coz there is no formal appraisal neither performance based rewarding…:-)

    • JayadevM
      January 15, 2012 at 6:26 pm

      Hi Biju, that’s right! There is no incentive for good performance, but there is no intent either.

      Without a strategy to give the customer the best they will not make any progress. I guess all organisation that excel build it into their culture … to put Customer First!

  2. G.Venu Gopal
    January 15, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    may be that s the difference between private sector and public sector . private sector is fast and may be a bit costly , public sector is cheaper but a bit slow. both have its own advantages and of course exceptions .

    • JayadevM
      January 17, 2012 at 4:23 am

      True! But should we accept it?

      Let me twist a line from the famous song in the movie My Fair Lady and ask – Why can’t my bank be a bit more like me?

      The customer is not asking for anything extra – this bank wasn’t offering what it already had!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

