Home > Ideas > Taking stock!

Taking stock!

Another weekend. Time to put one’s feet up for a while to get some well-deserved rest. It’s also a good time to take stock, assess the events of the week gone by … in my case, the month.

Let me explain – this is Post No. 31; it calls for a mini celebration because I have been writing for one whole month, without a break, and I am 31-born.

A pat on my own back – don’t I deserve a 

I have been studying the feedback received over the last month – Likes and Comments at the blog and on my Social Media pages.

Most of the feedback have been:

–          Appreciation for the style and structure of my Posts

–          Support for the topics I have presented

–          Appreciation for my commitment and consistency

–          Thanks from readers for the insights and tips that helped them

One friend said my articles are “Not preachy! They are useful even to those who are not in Sales”; another appreciated the way I found time to successfully juggle so many different roles – if only she knew!

I thank them all for sharing their thoughts and appreciation; useful insights and encouragement.

I cannot ignore my die-hard fans (have their permission to say so!). They keep me going. Have to acknowledge the person I call Reader No.1, Sourav Das.  Thank you, Sonny -boy! … and to you, Paul.

There have been a few thought critiques too – on word choices, sentence structures, size of the Posts, choice of topics and some who disagree with my thought process. Again valuable stuff!

Shantanu Sengupta who pushed (No! FORCED) me to start writing – and gave no-holds-barred feedback on the articles. That told me how my readers are thinking and helped shape my style. Thank you, Shantanu.

Am still some distance away from being good – but, I surely am on my way.

Even the minutest feedback is useful. If you think someone is being unfair or biased you only have to ignore their suggestion; LATER, not while the feedback is being given – accept all feedback with grace.

Don’t get defensive or angry while receiving negative feedback – the best method is to keep your eyes and ears open and your mouth shut; on the computer, don’t hit the Reply button after reading feedback, except to say “Thank you!”

Remember, it’s only their point-of-view; but it pays to listen.

You can be your own critic – and some say, the best one; but chances are that you could be biased and blind to some of your deficiencies; so it’s worthwhile to get another opinion.

Feedback helps in many ways:

–          Helps to keep your grounded

–          Stops you from losing control

–          Gives you direction

–          Propels you forward

Be open to feedback … it’s an indicator of your true worth!

  1. shantanusengupta
    January 7, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    Thanks for the mention… frankly I guess you did your best! 🙂

    • JayadevM
      January 8, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      Shantanu, pleasure is entirely mine!

      You cleverly hid a “Feedback for improvement” in the compliment … “frankly I guess”!

      I take that as a cue to work harder!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

